Lilia Write Now

I write, therefore I am

Bacon? Mmmm….bacon! April 30, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — llipps @ 8:53 pm

I don’t eat pork.

It is not because I am following a religious doctrine. I am not vegan or vegetarian.

I just don’t remember eating much swine as I was growing up and so when I got older I think I just decided I didn’t dig the pig.

My husband used to complain that the only kind of bacon we ever had in our house was turkey bacon.  Personally I never saw any issue with that.  It was delicious and (I erroneously thought) healthier for us than regular bacon.  BLT‘s with turkey bacon were one of my favorite go-to lunches on weekends.

Then one day, about 6 years ago, my husband and I were sitting in our family room eating some take-out sandwiches.  He got up to use the restroom and I decided to take a bite of his sandwich.  It was delicious.  I mean it was significantly better than my sandwich.  I proceeded to eat half of it.

My husband came out of the bathroom, looked at what remained of his sandwich, looked at me, and said “I thought you didn’t eat pork.  There was bacon in that sandwich.”

My response? “ShutUpILikeBacon. LeaveMeAlone!”

And now, I too subscribe to the addage that bacon makes everything better.

But I still don’t dig the pig.

 

3 Responses to “Bacon? Mmmm….bacon!”

  1. smittenincle Says:

    I love this post. (didn’t dig the pig!!! HA). But I’m a pig lover. Growing up as the daughter of a butcher will do that to a girl. I always joke that the only tattoo I would ever get would be that of a pig. Have you ever seen a pig tramp stamp? Sexy.

  2. IRENE Says:

    SO NEXT TIME I MAKE SHISH-KABOBS YOU ARE EATING WITH US???


Leave a Reply

