Lilia Write Now

I write, therefore I am

Ohio Blogging Association All State Blog Swap May 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — llipps @ 12:26 pm

Hi!  I’m Jeanne (aka Sourire11) and I blog over at Life in Cleveland

Life in Cleveland

Today we are doing a posting swap through the Ohio Blogging Association and the topic we decide on was to blog about… blogging.

Why I started blogging:

I started blogging waaaaay back in 2005.  Back then as a knitter one of the best way to find out how a pattern would work out was to check the knitting blogs.  It seemed wrong that I wasn’t contributing to that online knowledge bank.  So I started a blog as a way to post my projects for others to learn from.  And then I got into it.  Really into it.  I loved sharing our adventures and our life and so much more than just my knitting projects.  And I enjoyed trying to write and photograph at a quality that other people would be interested in.  I also found that I loved reading other people’s stories.  Seeing their lives – not just their knitting.  And I learned that everyone’s story is interesting.

Why I blog now:

My life has changed alot since 2005.  Now we have two kids so my story is much more focused on them.  I very much enjoy looking back through my blog and seeing how they have changed.  And how we have coped with each stage of our life  (hint: it usually involves wine).

What I blog about:

I often feel that my blog is a misfit. 
I’d love to be able to be a genre blog and do it well.  To be a
Cleveland Blog.  Or a Knit Blog.  Or a Parenting Blog.  But… I just
end up blogging about whatever shiny object is currently capturing my
attention so my blog is kindof all over the map.  And alot of my posts
cover more than one category.  But that pretty much sums up my life right about now so it works.

My favorite thing about blogging:

Community.   I love all of the wonderful people that I have me through the online world.  It’s amazing how supportive and interesting and awesome the internet community can be.  I have made some fantastic friends through blogging and am excited to be a part of this swap.  It’s so fun to find a new blog to read and a new story to follow!

Anyways thanks so much to Lilia for having me and to the Ohio Blogging Association for organizing this swap!!!

-Jeanne from Life in Cleveland
Twitter: @Sourire11

 

9 Responses to “Ohio Blogging Association All State Blog Swap”

  1. I know what you mean about not really fitting into a certain genre. My name screams FOOD BLOG but it ends up being about a bunch of other stuff that I love too. I’m looking forward to checking out your blog!

  2. Pretty Says:

    I follow Jeanne’s blog, and this makes me want to go back and read it from the beginning! So glad for the blog swap…I can’t wait to look around some more blogs later today!

  3. Nice to meet you Jeanne! I don’t think it’s a bad thing that your topics are all over, it makes for a well-rounded blog. If that’s what you’re thinking about, go ahead and write about it! Sometimes I feel like I hold myself back b/c I don’t open my recipe blog up for more writing opportunities.

  4. Jody Morgan Says:

    My blog is about life – I wish it had a genre as well! Maybe one day I will start focusing…

  5. findtimeforfun Says:

    Thanks for the insight. I’m new to blogging, but I completely agree with your favorite aspect of blogging. Everyone I’ve “met” through blogging has been extremely friendly and supportive.

  6. Diana Says:

    Good Luck with all of your blogging – all the different types of blogging.

  7. Janie Reinart Says:

    How fun that you are creating the shape of your blog as you go! Good for you. Writing has to come from the heart! Just stopping by from the OBA Swap to say hello! Happy Writing!


Leave a Reply

