Lilia Write Now

I write, therefore I am

My partner in crime June 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — llipps @ 2:27 pm

Here’s the thing.  My husband cracks me up.

People always ask how you will know when you have met THE ONE. And the answer is usually, you will JUST KNOW.  I don’t know about all of that.  I do know that what convinced me that Mr. Lipps was my happily ever after was that we always have fun together.  We always laugh, we always enjoy each other, and together we can make the best out of even the most mundane experience. That’s the kind of person you want to go through life with.

So, again, in the spirit of using this blog to be able to tell some of my favorite stories, that he is sick of hearing, here are a few gems about my beloved.

He Bit Me!
One night, Todd and I were sleeping after having friends over for a lovely dinner party. (The following events happened very quickly although it felt like an eternity)  I woke up with a crazy pain on my head. Not a headache. This was definitely external. Anyway, I woke up, crazy pain and I cried out, OWWW!!! Almost instantaneously Todd woke up and started crying (he denies this part, but I was there. I know the truth) and said “oh my god, I’m so sorry!”

So what had happened is this: he was dreaming and in his dream he was apparently in some sort of fight. His cunning opponents had his arms and legs pinned. Not one to be outdone, he fought back with the only thing he could – his mouth. Which in reality, manifested in him biting the top of my head like it was a big tasty apple.

He gave me a black eye
We were sleeping. Both on our backs, side by side, with our arms down at our sides. He jerked or twitched or convulsed. Doesn’t matter how you say it. End result was  his arm flying up and his fist connecting with my eye.

I may be exaggerating a bit about the black eye.  But he definitely made contact and it smarted.

He pinched more than an inch
We were sleeping. Yep, a lot of my stories about him start this way. So, we were sleeping. Again, I woke up in excruciating pain. I looked down and he was  clutching my stomach as if he was trying to rip it off my body.  Not even an explanation for this one.

You may be noticing a slant towards the violent. Which is hilarious because Mr. Lipps is anything but.  I think sleep brings out his inner fight club member.

He also has a habit of attempting conversation when he is half asleep.  Most of which he doesn’t remember.  All of which is entertaining.

Being the good wife I am, I like to celebrate his milestone birthdays.  I threw him a lovely 35th surprise party, complete with professional blackjack and poker dealers. For his 40th, we had a bowling party. I wanted to make this extra special so I went about putting together a video for him.

I don’t want to get away from the point of this blog or bore you with details of the party.  It is really about the video.

My directorial debut ended up being more of a feature film than a  digital short, as it comes in at 45 minutes.  It is made up of a number of different things.  And while I enjoy the whole video, I wouldn’t expect any of you to watch all 45 minutes. But, if you let it load and then go to minute 34:50, you will see the bloopers and outtakes section.  This is made up of funny pictures and more importantly, funny videos.  See, I got hip pretty quickly to the fact that my husband’s incoherent mumblings were pretty funny and started recording him in the mornings.  And now, it is in the video for all to enjoy.

https://vimeo.com/18310782  Again, if you just want the funny, go to 35:40.  If you are all caught up with the Bachelorette and anything else on your DVR, feel free to watch it all.  It really is delightful.

 

Leave a Reply

