Lilia Write Now

I write, therefore I am

A foodie by any other name… July 17, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — llipps @ 6:31 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Would not seem nearly as pretentious. So here is my rant. Ever since I became more active with Twitter, and especially after doing the Corks and Cupcakes event for Emerging Chefs, I have found myself surrounded by self-proclaimed foodies.

That’s all fine and good, but I think the definition is a very subjective matter.

For instance, http://www.dictionary.com defines it as:

food·ie

[foo-dee]  Show IPA

noun Slang .

a person keenly interested in food, especially in eating or cooking.
Origin: 
food  + -ie,  perhaps in part extracted from junkie

I enjoy food.  I think meals should be events.  I look at food as more than just essential sustenance. (this is not the place to get into the discussion that this attitude towards food leads to obesity. )

This alone, might qualify someone to designate themselves as a foodie.

But not to the foodie snobs.  The elitist foodies.  No, for you to be allowed to group yourself with them, you must put all forms of unmentionable and unpalatable things in your system.

Here’s the thing, and I will put it in all caps so you understand:  THERE ARE CERTAIN THINGS THAT WILL NEVER. EVER. GO IN MY MOUTH! EVER. NEVER.

For instance:

  • brains
  • kidneys
  • hearts
  • tongue
  • feet
  • ears
  • cheeks
  • blood
  • marrow

The fact that I don’t want to eat an animal’s vital organs should not disqualify me from being a foodie.  Consider the definition for offal (and really, is it a coincidence that it sounds just like awful?)

of·fal

   [aw-fuhl, of-uhl]  

noun

1.the parts of a butchered animal that are considered inedible by human beings; carrion.
2.the parts of a butchered animal removed in dressing;viscera.
3.refuse; rubbish; garbage.
Seems to me, I am on the right side of things.
Also, why are so many restaurant menus so contrived these days?  With chefs trying to out-innovate or out-gross each other, the overall dining experience seems to be a bit diluted.
How about cooking something simple but doing it exquisitely well.  Showcase your technique and your skill, rather than concerning yourself with chasing the newest trend.  Classics are classics for a reason.  I am not saying that ingenuity is bad, but it should be done in moderation.
So, I hereby stake my claim that I am a foodie.  Awful offal will never pass my lips. But I will enjoy each and every morsel secure in the knowledge that my love of food is deep and lasting.
 

4 Responses to “A foodie by any other name…”

  1. Smitten...in cleveland Says:

    I love this. People who refer to themselves as foodies are obtuse.

  2. half this country doesn’t even know what “food” is….

  3. Sara Ann Says:

    Amen! What is the appeal in eating tongue? I just dont get it. I think Ill just have a good ‘ole steak instead. 🙂

  4. While I’m uncomfortable with some offal, I’m also uncomfortable with the dismissal of a food just because it’s outside one’s comfort zone.

    Cheeks and hearts are muscles much like the parts we are most used to eating.


Leave a Reply

