Lilia Write Now

I write, therefore I am

For the love of country August 22, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — llipps @ 6:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

If you were to ask me if I am a city girl or a country girl, well by default I would have to say city girl.

However, I would add a special category for myself.  I am a civilization girl.

You see, I could never live in the “big city” like New York or Chicago or Boston.  Those are all great places to visit but after a few days, I’m done.

I also could never live in the country.  I need people around me.  I need shops within a reasonable distance.

I need to feel a part of civilization.

But just like the big cities are fun to visit for all their thrills and frills, some time in the country is good for my soul.

On Sunday Todd and I headed to Wayne, OH for the annual Lipps family reunion.

For the first few years that Todd and I were together, we didn’t go.  For starters, most of the family that attends these reunions is a little bit county, so not necessarily what we can relate to. Second, and much more importantly to my husband, they always used to schedule the reunions to coincide with the first NFL sunday game.  He wasn’t so keen on that.

So, they switched it to being the third weekend in August and dutifully, for the last few years, we have gone.

The reunion itself was fine, uneventful.  It was the usual mix of people, the same types of food and visiting with people we don’t get to see very often.

After the reunion we headed to Todd’s cousin, Mallory’s house.  Mallory and her husband Nathan live in the house that Todd’s grandmother lived in.  She raised 4 kids, including Todd’s dad, in that house.

They recently built a big red barn on the property.  I think the barn is bigger than  the house.

But driving up to the house, it was such an idyllic scene. Big red barn, white house, blue sky with cotton candy clouds.  I just felt calm.
                                                   

Over to the right of the property, there is a BIG garden.  They have everything in there.  I mean this is a garden from which you could construct an entire meal.
                              

And on the front lawn (really, so much more than a lawn….it is a giant expanse of green) there are two perfect white Adirondack chairs, under the shade of a beautiful tree.
                                

Mallory’s husband Nathan has recently gotten into bee-keeping.  And while everyone else went down to look at the bees, I reclined in one of these lovely chairs. I sat back, looked around me and took it all in. To the right of me were acres upon acres of corn fields.  I could see the wind ruffling the tops of the stalks.  In front of me, at the end of a very long driveway and across the street, were 5 cows walking around their front lawn.

Everything was so quiet.  It was a perfect 73 degrees.  There was a slight breeze and I could feel the sun on my toes as I stretched them out in front of me.  I felt so calm and so good.

There’s something about being in that kind of state, and also, surrounded by people that you love and that you know love you, that just makes you feel like you never want it to end.

Normally if I am out doing something on a Sunday I want to get home sooner rather than later so I can have my last few precious hours of rest before the weekday grind starts again.  But not this time.  This time I felt myself lingering, allowing myself to be bathed in the warm glow of love of contentment that I was feeling.

I hope you had an equally blessed weekend.

             

 

4 Responses to “For the love of country”

  1. Susan Says:

    I can handle visiting out in the country, but I couldn’t live there. Like you, I couldn’t live in a big city either. It looks lovely, and I’m sure it was relaxing! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself!

  2. Mallory Says:

    So glad you had such a relaxing time out here in Wayne. You and Tood (and Cooper!) are welcome any time you need a break from city life!


Leave a Reply

